NaNoWriMo’ Posts, Mo’ Problems

Na na na na na na na na na, Katamari Danowrimo…

Hey internets, here’s a thing you might not know about me – I did that NaNoWriMo thing! If you don’t know what that is, imagine writing an entire novel over the course of a single month, then you’re there, because that’s what it is. No, I’m not going to post it here, but I will say that the premise was an immortal girl and her quest for mortality. It’s totally fantasy and it was total crap, but it was a month’s 50,000 words of crap, so I guess that’s something. Also, it featured David Nestico, Adventurer, Explorer, Cartographer, who is perhaps my favorite character I’ve made up, coursing over the sea in his magical ornithopter.

The reeeason I bring this up is because I’m planning on doing it again over the next month! A little smaller, just 30,000 words, but that’s okay because I’m writing a young adult fantasy novel this time, and I’ll be self-publishing it to Kindle! (Yes, this is entirely spurred on by Mr. J. A. Konrath. What can I say, he’s a convincing guy.) I’ll probably even post free codes for downloads on here, so all – yes, every one! – of the words can be yours! Hooray words.

Lastly, I thought I might tell you about a personal quest of mine at the moment – internships! I went ahead and sent out emails to a number of different game developers in the Greater Seattle Area, and we’ll see what happens. (Thank you, gamedevmap!) Worst comes to worst, I threw my name into an unchecked inbox – best comes to best, I get to talk to someone in the industry over the next couple years. Anyone else tried for game internships fresh out of High School?

End with a couple of links, as summer is now starting and there is a plethora of free time – http://altdevblogaday.org/ has multiple posts a day from various industry people (some of it more specific than can be understood at first glance, some of it broader); it’s iOS predecessor, http://idevblogaday.com/; the ridiculous philo-neruo-psycho-rationalist website LessWrong which is highly entertaining and massive, and condensed into a more palatable form in the rationalist fanfiction Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality. Never thought I’d read fanfiction until that came out.

Peace!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

